Latest updates from our Facebook page.
Good to bump into Andrew Byrne from London 1840 at the heritage centre, researching local buildings for his ambitious model which he will be telling us about at our February meeting. ... See MoreSee Less
Greenwich Historical Society added 2 new photos.
Thank you to architect Richard Hill for talking to us last night about this beautiful drawing of the north elevation of St Alfege Church which he found at the Heritage Centre. He quickly recognised that it was likely to have been drawn by Hawksmoor himself. Great to have Rev Chris Moody in attendance too. ... See MoreSee Less
Happy Birthday Cutty Sark - launched on this day back in 1869! The ship was named after Cutty-sark, the nickname of the witch Nannie Dee in Robert Burns's 1791 poem Tam o' Shanter.
Excellent journey in pictures by Veronica Thornton last night along the long defunct Greenwich Park Railway line, from its terminus in Stockwell Street, Greenwich through Nunhead to another terminus at Crystal palace. This old railway line is the background to her newly-published novel, 'The Screaming Alice' - rhyming slang for Crystal Palace. A most enjoyable evening. Veronica, a former art teacher, also designed the cover of her new book. ... See MoreSee Less
Mudlarker Nicola White's presentation to GHS back in April was a memorable and fascinating look at some of her finds from the Thames foreshore. One discovery in particular - the luggage tag of local man Frederick Jury - caught Nicola's imagination and she's created this 15 minute film to tell his story. www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xxara6c7ig&feature=youtu.be ... See MoreSee Less
Occasionally, a seemingly innocuous find in the River Thames such as this, can be compared to opening up a glorious story book. It is no secret that it is th...